Home About A4s Events and Programs Membership Info Resources Contact Us
News Media Center Facts & Figures Recommended Rates Award Book Links
  My4AsNews {December 2009}

Khai and Chris Lee honoured at the Presidentís Design Award Ceremony

There were 11 recipients at this yearís Presidentís Design Award Ceremony held at The Istana 19 November where President SR Nathan gave out the annual awards to 4 outstanding designers and 7 ground-breaking designs.

Conferred by The President of the Republic of Singapore and jointly administered by the DesignSingapore Council of the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts and the Urban Redevelopment Authority, The Presidentís Design Award is Singaporeís highest accolade for designers and designs from all design disciplines. In its fourth year, the Award honours the significant achievements and contributions of the city-stateís design talents that have challenged conventions with innovation and enhanced the lives of the community.

Of the 4 recipients of the Designer of the Year awards, 2 are from our sector - they are Chris Lee, Founder and Creative Director for Asylum Creative Pte Ltd and Tham Khai Meng, Worldwide Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather. Also presented with the award are Koichiro Ikebuchi, Director of Atelier Ikebuchi Pte Ltd and Look Boon Gee, Managing Director of Look Architects Pte Ltd.

The 7 Design of the Year Recipients are:

a. Genexis Theatre, Fusionopolis
Arup and WOHA
ndrew Nicol and Wong Mun Summ (and Team)

b. Henderson Waves
RSP Architects Planners & Engineers (Pte) Ltd
IJP Corporation Ltd, UK
Liu Thai Ker and George Liaropoulos-Legendre (and Team)

c. Paper Fold
Exit Design
Kelvin Teo (and Team)

d. Republic Polytechnic
DP Architects Pte Ltd in association with Maki & Associates
Fumihiko Maki and Angelene Chan (and Team)

e. The Met (Bangkok, Thailand)
Wong Mun Summ and Richard Hassell (and Team)

f. Urband Origami
Nanyang Optical Co Pte Ltd
Yang Wah Kiang (and Team)

g. X-halo Breath Thermometer
Philips Design
Michael Paterson (and Team)


News Articles

Interview with Lim Si Ping, winner of the Crowbars 2009 Best of Show award

DMAS holds the “Wedding of the Year”




Copyright 2009 © Association of Accredited Advertising Agents, Singapore. All rights reserved.
here to see a full copyright statement. | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement